#49: The Twelve Days of Christmas – I’m Workin’ On It.

Every year mid-December I start getting a little excited – not just because I love Christmas (BECAUSE I DO! OH! I LOVE CHRISTMAS!) but because we do the Twelve Days of Christmas in my house. My husband started it a few years ago, getting me a gift each day before Christmas and we’ve now adapted it so pretty much everyone is getting small gifts for twelve days before Christmas.

And when I say small gifts, I mean it. We’re not trying to break the bank, we just have fun giving each other silly things that will make the recipient smile. I love getting Tic Tacs and cans of soup and candy canes and gum and giftcards to Starbucks. The point is that it’s better to give than receive – and so this year, I want to give the Twelve Days of Christmas to someone else.

This is where you come in.

But why? you ask. Surely you have friends and family you could do this for locally, that wouldn’t involve sending a package out of state and asking the internet if they want presents.

Well, yes. I do.

But the thing is… HOW WOULD I CHOOSE? I mean, if I did it for my sister, my brother might get his feelings hurt. I’d love to do it for my best friend – but would my other friends feel left out? GAH. It becomes this thing where I really just want it to be fun! For the recipient… and for me.

So here’s the deal, if you think you might wanna get twelve days of gifts, LEAVE A COMMENT. This is not a sponsored blog post – I don’t have companies lining up to give me stuff to give you. This is stuff that’s gonna come from ME and I’ll send it to you (continental U.S. people only, please – for the sake of shipping). On Thanksgiving at some point, I’ll randomly select the recipient of my holiday-gift-giving love. If your name is selected, I’ll let you know. And then. AND THEN? Gifts. In. The. Mail.

Twelve gifts.

So, as a getting to know you thing (which will help if your name is chosen) when you leave your comment let me know a few things:

1) What’s your favorite way to spend a few extra bucks?
2) What’s your favorite color?
3) And anything else you think I should know…

Okay, ready, set…. GO.

 

CONGRATS TO DANIELLE FROM EXTRAORDINARY MOMMY! She’ll be gettin’ 12 days of Christmas from moi. Can’t wait to start shopping!

11 Comments »

  1. Melissa said

    Sarah? Do you seriously keep multiple blogs? That’s ridic! I can’t even keep up with my ONE!

    Anyway, thanks for the 12 Days reminder – I think I’ll do it for Daniel this year. It’s much nicer and way more fun than spending a ton of money and stress on something you’re not even sure they’ll like.

    So.

    1) What’s your favorite way to spend a few extra bucks?
    A coffee and an iced lemon poundcake at Starbucks. OR! Office supplies. I LOVE nice pens, highlighters, post-it notes, clips, binders, etc. Sometimes, when I’ve had a bad day, I’ll stop by the campus bookstore and buy some pens and a composite notebook just to cheer myself up (I keep my campus card loaded for just such occasions!)

    2) What’s your favorite color?
    I like them all, though I’m really partial to ferny greens, brown and pink.

    3) And anything else you think I should know…
    Hm. I think you know just about everything pertinent. :)

  2. Tammy said

    1) Favorite way to spend a few extra bucks? hmm Good question…I think I have forgot! However lately, I think painting, getting a canvas, some acrylics and just going to town.

    2) Favorite color: I don’t know if there is ONE favorite, but I like greens and blues

    3) Anything else for you to know: I think you know pretty much everything my friend! :)

  3. Casey said

    Seriously how could a person read this post and not comment!? :-) I will feel incredibly guilty if you pick my name, but just in case… !

    I love to spend my extra bucks at Target, Starbucks and iTunes. I love Pink – like pastel pink, not super hot and flashy pink.

    I’m not sure what else to tell you, because you know me so well! Let’s see… I love the Twilight series, cool post-its and notepads, gel gems on my office window, peppermint, the Vikings, Sharpies and fun pens (can you tell I’m sitting in my office right now??), and Christmas music year round. I’m a little weird that way, LOL.

    This really is a great idea. I think I’ll do the 12 days of Christmas for Koty this year. I put so much time and attention into the kids, he could use a little lovin too!

  4. Tamara said

    What a cool idea!! Since my mom died I’m always looking for new ways to celebrate the holidays. New traditions is what my family needs so I might just have to give this one a try.

    Now for your questions:

    1) What’s your favorite way to spend a few extra bucks? Lately I’ve been on this whole entertaining kick and I love buying dishes, wine glasses, cute little appetizer plates, etc. I think it’s because I can’t possible fit one more thing in my closet so I’ve decided the kitchen needs new clothes (so to speak).
    2) What’s your favorite color? RED
    3) And anything else you think I should know… I love wine and candles.

  5. OK – I honestly feel a little guilty commenting – but I do LOVE to get mail – and it is always the small things that make me smile the most. I love that you are doing this, Sarah – such a heavenly way to celebrate the holidays!

    1) Fav way to spend a little – Target, Old Navy, Panera, ITunes
    2) Color: Reds – pinks
    3) I love to decorate my house, spoil my kids, read, drink wine and absorb anything related to the beach :)

  6. amber said

    Aw this is such an awesome idea! Thank you. You know, when I was a little girl, my grandmother (she helped raise me) used to give me a present each of the 12 days leading up to Christmas. She died in 2001, and thats still one of my most precious memories of her. She always made Christmas so special! So your 12 days of Christmas post right here, reminds me of her :) So thank you.

    1. My extra cash goes towards fun on a rainy day, like tickets to the movies, or some coffee at Starbucks, or a new book.
    2. My fav colors: black, turquoise, red.
    3. I love all things Harry Potter (Ahem, I’m 26 years old…). I adore gift cards. I love old antiquarian books, and lotions and bath and body items. I love anything scented or flavored like pomegranate, ginger, dark chocolate, or peppermint.

    This was fun :)

  7. Cari said

    This is an awesome idea!

    1. Extra cash- ghiradelli white hot chocolate from Barnes and Noble- and 30 min to sit a read a stack of magazines I know I am not going to buy…

    2. My fav color: Caribbean blue- the deep one…the one in between the lightish-greenish by the shore and the dark navy of the deeper water (see photo on my blog- My Heart belongs to the Caribbean- http://bit.ly/7wf1Zp )

    3. My house is a gluten-free/nut free zone- my son has a severe allergic disorder and, well, this is non-negotiable unless you send an epi-pen along ;)

  8. Malia said

    How fun!! You are seriously one of the most generous people I know, Sarah. You rock!

    My answers:

    1. Food. Seriously. Coffee, ice cream, drinks from Sonic, baked goods. I’m always a little giddy when I have a few dollars left in the grocery budget and I can treat myself to a little…treat!

    2. I like pink but I also like bold colors (think gem tones!)

    3. I am easily pleased. Like you, even small gestures like postcards, text messages, phone calls or maybe a random box of homemade cookies (ahem…hint, hint) in the mail would totally make my day :)

  9. A few extra bucks.. what’s that? It would be on a pedicure or eyebrow wax.. or maybe treat myself to a book for my ereader on my iphone…

    Purple or Green, it’s a toss up :-)

    Food and photography ;) and my wonderful friends like you.

    Thanks for checking in on me.
    I loved hearing all about Hubs treating you last year and I can’t wait to hear what he does this year, too. You’re such a darling.

  10. emily said

    I remember that you do this and I’ve always wanted to do the same. Maybe I’ll actually get on board this year. I’m a bit of a lazy bum.

    With an extra couple bucks I tend to do a couple of things: buy pepperidge farm sugar cookies in the little bag-they’re the kind I like-, get a small “fluffy toy” for my kids, or get a movie theater size box of gobstoppers. They’re my favorite. Ooh or go to Hallmark to buy cards. I love cards.

    My favorite color is purple. Has been since I was a little girl.

    Anything else you should know…I live in Pennsylvania. I love books. I work and play on the computer. Going to the movies is my favorite. I am happier now than I have ever been.

  11. […] time in my life (I know, shocking) I am actually celebrating the 12 Days of Christmas.  I won a contest on Sarah’s site.…and Sarah – because she has a heart the size of Minnesota, and because she truly LOVES to […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

