So WHY Am I Doing This?

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve never really done them – and if I have, I have deliberately made them fun resolutions (I have, on more than one occasion, resolved to “leave the state for at least a day”). When I read about this project, however, I decided it was worth giving a shot.

It’s easy to fall into a comfort zone – we find patterns in our lives and seldom deviate from them because why bother? We go on with our groove and if it ain’t broke, why fix it?

But the thing is, though I’ve got my little groove going, I find that when I become complacent, I stop growing. I get stuck in mom mode and forget that there were a lot of things about me that make me awesome, interesting and amazing – and instead, I’m focused on cutting peanut butter sandwiches in fun shapes for school lunches. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

I missed challenging myself, though. I missed stepping out of my comfort zone. That’s what 101/1001 is about for me.

I will start on January 1, 2009 — and the challenge ends September 29, 2011. That’s just over two and a half years to work through my list. Will I be able to do it? I sure hope so.

Leave a Reply

