#62: Re-read Classic Books

I need some help making a list of CLASSIC books to re-read. I asked the folks on Twitter last night what they would recommend and got some awesome recommendations. I want to make a list of TEN classics to reread. I already plan to reread “Catcher in the Rye” and “To Kill a Mockingbird”. I’ll also be reading “Little Women” because I’ve never read it (I know, I know).

Other suggestions I got were:

  • Anything by Austen or Dickens
  • Dante’s Inferno
  • Lolita
  • The Great Gatsby
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Of Mice and Men
  • Anything by Steinbeck
  • Beowulf
  • Bend in the River (Naipul)
  • Catch-22 (Heller)
  • Slaughterhouse 5 (Vonnegut)
  • Naked & the Dead (Mailer)

Do you second any of these recommendations or do you have new ones for me? Please help!

5 Comments »

  1. Jo said

    You are good girl! I challenged myself to read ONE book per MONTH for only 6 months! LOL 250 is a lot! For me anyways! LOL

    Good luck you are doing great. I think I may need to make my own blog for this.

  2. Ami said

    I’m so glad you decided to do this, too!

    I’d also add anything by Jane Austin to your list (my favorites are Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility and Northanger Abby). What about The Scarlett Letter? I seem to remember enjoying that one, too.

    Good luck! Looking forward to progressing through our lists together.

  3. Betsy Hite Scott said

    I totally second the anything by Austen or Dickens comment. I’d say go for Pride and Prejudice by Austen and Great Expectations by Dickens.

    For more help on this one, go to http://www.hipsterbookclub.com – my friends are the editors there. January’s issue will be focused on the classics when it is up in a few days. One review/feature is a “Guy’s guide to Austen” which will be fun and funny. Enjoy!

  4. Heather said

    I really enjoyed East of Eden by Steinbeck. Two other books I’ve read numerous times are The mayor of Casterbridge (love it!) and Heart of Darkness. I could never make it through Wuthering Heights, Dante’s Inferno, or the Great Gatsby. OH a Tale of Two Cities is one I adore, too.

  5. the101list said

    So so so many options. I am going to have to do a poll, I think. I am feeling not-well-read – so many classics out there I’ve never read. Why is that?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

