#39: Take a Reusable Mug With Me For Coffee

(Or, how it was made clear to me why the chick behind the counter is making the coffee not buying the coffee).

I vowed to take a reusable mug with me at least once a month when I stopped for coffee. Seeing as how I go for coffee at least once a week and (oh who am I kidding) usually significantly more than that, remembering to take my mug is the least I can do to try to offset the paper cups getting wasted on my behalf the other bazillion times a month I hit the Starbucks drive thru.

This morning, I woke up to the smells of bacon and pancakes and big breakfast going on downstairs. Food I don’t have to make is a good thing, and it’s nice to have a big breakfast occasionally. After a big breakfast (by the way, the jury is still out on turkey bacon), all I could think of was getting a big cup of coffee.

Fortunately, I was able to twist an errand running journey to include a stop at Starbucks. I can twist any outing to include a stop for coffee, so it’s really not that impressive of a thing – but it’s my thing. It’s what I do. I also had a coupon for a free Tazo Chai Tea Latte thingy, so I brought that along with my REUSABLE mug and figured since my husband is a tea drinker, he could have the frou frou tea and I could chug down some coffee.

I ventured to the counter, placed my order, handed the coffee chicky my REUSABLE mug and said to her, “I’d like to use my travel mug for my coffee.”  Then we launched into a discussion about flavors of those funky Tazo dealies and then before I knew it, I realized that the barristas had completely forgotten to use my mug. When I pointed it out, the cashier seemed vaguely pissed – and at that point, I don’t know why I even bothered saying anything because the net result was already gonna include a cup hitting the landfills. Because of me. Ugh.

But, out of principle (or because I relish being somewhat of a PITA) I made them use my freakin’ mug. But I still made mother nature cry today. Which sucks.

P.S. Those Chai Tea Latte things? Nasty.

Leave a Reply

