Stupid Tie.

After 42 votes, the classics I’m DEFINITELY reading are:

  • The Great Gatsby
  • Catch-22
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Count of Monte Cristo

I need two more, but (of course) have a four-way tie between: Siddhartha, 1984,  Of Mice and Men, AND Pride & Prejudice.  Now, I’ve read two of these (which ones, I’m not saying) so it seems the obvious choice would be to read the two I have NOT read. Buuuuut, I’m not sure if I want to re-read those. Ugh. Decisions, decisions.

Seriously, I’m supposed to read 250 books in 1,001 days – I’m not sure why two more of them can’t be “classics” but I think we’ve established that I can be a bit of a dork.

4 Comments »

  1. Betsy Hite Scott said

    I originally voted for The Count of Monte Cristo, but if I had two votes the other would have been for Pride and Prejudice hands down. I almost made my original vote for that one, but I thought the TCOMC wouldn’t get so many votes (silly me!) and I just LOVE it.

  2. the101list said

    I did pick up TCOMC today – it was the ONLY one of the four that B&N had in stock. Apparently some school has everything else on its reading list – so… I’m waiting for Catch-22 to come in. Of course, if Amazon would finally SHIP my order, I’d start with Catcher In The Rye.

  3. Casey said

    Seriously 250 books in 1001 days? I know you’re an avid reader, but between work, kids and the other 100 things on your list (one of which is writing a book) – how can you read a book every four days!? DO YOU EVER SLEEP!??? 😉

    I kiddie book, but I would recommend “Island of the Blue Dolphins”. Read it a zillion times in junior high, and just read it this summer with Isaiah and he loved it! The next book we’re reading together is “Castaways in Lilliput”!

    • the101list said

      It’s January 6, though and I’m on my fourth book of the year… So… I’m hoping I can keep it up.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

