#29: Make Snow Angels

Despite the fact that it’s been winter for 100 years in Michigan now, I had not (up til today) done any of my outdoor List activities because, well… let me tell you something about myself: I don’t love playing in the snow. My kids do. They love it, but me? I like to be warm. I can sit in a chair and watch my kids through a window playing in the snow ALL DAY – but please please please don’t make me go out in the stuff. Brrrr.

This afternoon, after making an unnecessary batch of cookies (oatmeal chocolate chip), I forced myself to get on the treadmill. I’m still getting over this bug and I wasn’t entirely sure how much work I wanted to do, so I didn’t even change into workout gear. I just popped on my Nikes and hit the treadmill in my jeans and t-shirt that I was already wearing. After 25 minutes, I was wiped out (so so sad), and quite warm. I figured, what the hell – as good a time as any to go lie in the snow and make a snow angel. I was already over-warm, and my jeans were already destined for the laundry pile.

Here’s another thing about me: I really have NO snow gear. Sure, I have gloves. Everyone does, right? But I don’t have a hat, I don’t have boots – none of that stuff that they say you should have in case your car breaks down on the side of the road and you have to hike two miles in the snow to get help. Whoops. So, I borrowed my husband’s hat. The hat cracked me up because even when I pulled the sucker down over my ears, there was still a little tip part sticking up on top. I started calling it the condom hat (for it’s lovely “reservoir tip”). My daughter took a picture of me in it, but I hate it, so I’ll just keep that to myself.

I ventured outside. My six year old was surprised when I said, “We’re making snow angels – who goes first: you or me?” She volunteered to go first and she clomped into the snow and leaned back to fall on her back. She made her angel and then I helped her up. Then it was my turn.

I am quite certain I haven’t really played in the snow since college. I have memories of stomping in the snow with my dorm suitemates in Kalamazoo, making snow angels and being silly. I still have the pictures. But that was over ten years ago, so, yeah, it’s been awhile.

I fell back into the snow, made my snow angel and by the time I got was done, I was kicking myself for not putting my gloves on. Cold cold hands. The snow was mushy and not packable, so getting up was an interesting sight (I have GOT to start filming some of this stuff so you guys can have a good laugh at my expense). My daughter helped me up and then I ran into the house, shivering. That was enough snow crap for the day.img_4571

Leave a Reply

