#47: Go To A Red Wings Game

My freshman year of college, a friend of mine introduced me to hockey. He was appalled that I didn’t know who Dino Ciccarelli was. That it didn’t mean something to me that Cameron was wearing a Gordie Howe jersey in “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”. And with his explanation and enthusiasm, my love of hockey began.

Mind you, this wasn’t like my short term fascination with basketball in seventh grade while crushing on a boy who was obsessed with the Boston Celtics and thought Larry Bird was the BEST. THING. EVER. No, no, that was a shortlived fascination because as I quickly learned: Basketball just does NOT float my boat.

Hockey? It floats my boat.

While I’ve been to college games and even IHL games locally, I have never been to an NHL game. I definitely needed to remedy that. Soooo, I bought my husband tickets for the RedWings v Colorado Avalanche for Christmas. Kind of self-serving, I know, but Hey! He wanted to go too. That’s what we call WIN/WIN.

It took about two and a half hours to get to Joe Louis Arena, which wasn’t bad.

img_49961

We arrived, got some greasy pizza, and my husband got the obligatory beer. He said, “How does the beer person at a major sports arena NOT know how to poor a beer?” My theory? Because beer drinkers WILL DRINK IT ANYWAY. When faced with bad beer or no beer, at sports events all tips in favor of beer. Lucky for the arena.

img_50111

The game was completely awesome. Well, after the first period. The first period I was getting the feeling that perhaps this was not going to be a good game. THEN? The momentum shifted and it became A GREAT GAME.

sarahtwo_168of365

It would have been an even better game had the RedWings won. The lost in a sudden death shoot out, with a final score of 6 – 5. Yeah, that sucked. BUT, I couldn’t have picked a better game to go to and am now convinced I need to go to WAY MORE GAMES.

3 Comments »

  1. Becky said

    HA! I grew up in a state where basketball is king, and even *I* knew about Dino Ciccarelli and Gordie Howe….Of course, that’s probably due to having spent the last 25 years of my life with a Detroit native. I’ve only been to one Red Wings game in Detroit (it’s easier to see them play in Nashville or Columbus) and that was many moons ago. It is a great game.

  2. Kathi said

    I LOVE Hockey too.(go Cyclones!) but still cover my eyes when they whomp on each other lol.

    • the101list said

      My RedWings just took their first game against the ducks tonight! WHOOOOO!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

