Catch-22 is O-V-E-R

I can’t believe it took me over a month to read a book.

I am actually kind of annoyed with myself.

AND I may have done a little dance after finishing the last page of the book this morning. Just a little one. Then I whooped real loud and put the book on my shelf.

I am a very fast reader. I always have been. Finishing a book in a day or two? Not uncommon for me. Even on the outside, to take a few days to read a book – even that’s a little on the slow side. So here I am over a month after starting “Catch-22” and I just finished it today. WTF.

What I realized while reading it:

1. There are some truly FUNNY moments – I mean, laugh out loud funny moments.

2. Each chapter is about ten pages. Ten pages of a whole lotta words squished on each page.

3. One chapter at a time, for the most part, was all I could digest in one sitting.

Sad but true.

I didn’t hate “Catch-22” but I felt some characters were more interesting than others, so certain chapters were SO good and certain chapters made me fall asleep on the couch, book in hand (True story, happened this morning). I have had several people tell me how much they love this book – if you’ve read it, where on the spectrum do YOU fall?

5 Comments »

  1. Mike said

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. So my comments linger in limbo for days, but you approve Mr. Douche marketer above? I am crushed!

    I’m only half way through. I love the book and appreciate it as an adult much more than I did as a teen. I savor the book’s understanding of bureaucracy.

    • the101list said

      Joe, not sure why your comments are going into limbo other than the fact that technology is not favoring dorks like us today. Sorry!!

  3. Steph said

    I haven’t read it yet. Now I’m a little scared to make the attempt. While I’m a voracious reader, I still struggle with some of the…erm…classics. I can kill a new Stephen King novel in a day or so, but it took me the better part of two weeks to slog through Toni Morrison’s “Beloved.” (God, I hate that book. I just scowled even typing the name.)

  4. the101list said

    I struggle with the classics too – which is why it took over a month to read Catch 22 (You can totally have my copy) and a day and a half for “Are You There Vodka”. Coincidence? Nope.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

