#38: Walk A Marathon

Many of you knew that I signed up for the Avon Two Day Walk for Breast Cancer.

This weekend was the big event. I arrived in Chicago at 5 p.m. on Friday – let me point out to those who are less in the know: That is a REALLY BAD TIME to arrive in Chicago. Ever. The last ten miles to my hotel took over an hour, during which time I got a bit of a light sunburn on my face and I stripped down a few layers because it was NOT that warm in Michigan when I left but it was definitely cami weather sitting in traffic in Chicago. (Also, thank goodness for camisoles).

I finally got off the highway only to realize that the Google Map was slightly wrong – that added a bit of extra time to my “driving around desperately seeking my hotel” time. I finally arrived at the hotel, parked my car and hauled my gear in, then took the elevator up to my room to find out that LOVELY, the front desk gave me keys to the wrong room. I called the desk, and within minutes a room service guy was at my door. Room service? I called Security! Turns out, Mister Room Service had a delivery from my walking partner (an awesome woman I met via Twitter who invited me to join their team) – she’d sent me up some water and an awesome plate of fruit. Room Service dude was also able to unlock the door and let me in (But seriously, did any of you know the Room service staff had keys? I never did, and now I’m slightly more bothered by the number of people in a hotel who can access your room at any time. Safety lock, check).

Saturday morning, I took the shuttle to Soldier Field, carb loaded some breakfast, met up with my team and we were soon off for our first day of walking, 26.2 miles. I won’t recap each mile, but it took us about 8.5 hours with lunch break, rest stops and having to navigate our way through the crowds. Also, intersections and miles 24 – 26.2 in the pouring rain. Crossing the finish line was awesome, and I was glad to hit the shuttle to go back to the hotel and take off my soggy socks and get some dry gear on.

061

(Note: Soggy socks make for wicked blisters. Ouch)

Day two started with my feet feeling surprisingly okay despite the three huge blisters I had had the previous evening. I had had a good night of hockey and just relaxing so I felt ready to go. A mile or two into it, the rain started. And it kept going.

And going.

BLEH.

The second day was harder than I thought it would be, actually.

Crossing the finish line, knowing I’d walked nearly 40 miles? It was an amazing feeling. TRULY TRULY AMAZING.And I’m so proud of myself and of the team that I walked with.

Also? I’m dehydrated. I am very tired, my blisters are painful, and I am sure I haven’t replenished my water enough. I’m emotional and cranky and not so much a joy to be around at the moment. I have been kindly reminded to drink some more water. I’m hoping that helps!

Leave a Reply

