July 2009 Update

How is it possible that I went to Chicago again without visiting the way up high tippy-top part of the Hancock building for a drink? I’ve now been several times since the beginning of this project and have not yet managed to get there – BUT I WILL. (I’m starting to suspect I’m going to have to make a trip SPECIFICALLY for this purpose because I can’t seem to get myself together to do it otherwise).

July wasn’t a very productive month, though I suppose maybe a smidge more productive than June. I definitely made more progress in that whole book reading thing in July (though seriously, I slow way down in summer. A lot. Who knew?).

I went to the derm for my mole check (hated every minute of it, thanks! But I’m just fine). I’m still remembering to take in my reusable mug. Still putting notes in library books (it’s really my favorite part of it all. I love that part SO much). Still sending cards or postcards or letters monthly (Love that part too – because getting cards and postcards back? That is AWESOME).

There are still so many things I want to do for my project. I need to get cracking on reading the classics (Count of Monte Cristo? I’m giving it two very bored thumbs down. I have “To Kill A Mockingbird” waiting in the wings, but I may need to give “The Count” the boot. I don’t know if I can stand it).

I still need to memorize a poem, but which one. I have many I love – but wonder which one I should choose (my favorite is one by Pablo Neruda – but really don’t know if I want to go for mush right now!). I don’t question my ability to memorize something – I still have bits and pieces of a poem I memorized in eight grade floating around in my head (the first line “I wandered lonely as a cloud…” – if you comment with the poem and the author, I’ll send you… Something. GO!). Any poem suggestions for me to memorize?

I think once summer settles down, I’ll start getting more things done. I would love to start planning trips to visit two states I’ve never been before – that’s about 55-60% of the country, so, shouldn’t be too hard to find someplace new to go – but… where?

Hope your July was awesome – hope if you have a list going, that it’s coming along as well.

4 Comments »

  1. Shannon said

    The Daffodils by William Wordsworth!

    • the101list said

      Well done! Now I just hafta think of something to send you!!

  2. taraSG said

    A fellow 101er and I created an online community for those doing the 101 in 1001 challenge. Day Zero List Makers is a place where you could share your goals, meet other day zero project participants, and offer support/encouragement/general thoughts and ideas through the forums. You can also start or join a group, upload photos or videos, and participate in our (monthly?) blog award contest.

    http://www.dayzero.ning.com

    Hope you check it out 🙂

  3. Count said

    The Count of Monte Cristo is my all time favorite book. Make sure you have a good translation. That makes a difference. Plot, angst,history, love, money, revenge, did I say plot? The Count has more of all of this than any other novel ever!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

