I’m Finally Reading Vonnegut

As I type this, “The Count of Monte Cristo” is in an envelope traveling media mail to a much better home than I could have ever provided for it. I couldn’t love or understand it quite like it needed. I couldn’t accept it for what it is. I was not a good book-owner, and fortunately, I have found a lovely new home for it.

And in its stead, I’ve started reading Kurt Vonnegut’s “Slaughterhouse-Five.” Nope, I’ve never read this or any book by Vonnegut before.

I find this kind of frustrating, actually, this reading of classics. To find that there are so many books out there that I haven’t read – and it’s not entirely that I haven’t wanted to. I mean, where were the teachers who were supposed to make me read these books? On one hand, I read a lot of books – and during the banned book week, I was surprised to find that many of the books I read in my American Lit class were on that list. In that respect, I’m shocked that those were a part of my school’s curriculum, but I’m glad to have read those.

But then people quote books or talk about their beloved favorites and in my head I’m saying, “Hmmm. Never read that. Or that. OR THAT.”

So, here I am with “Slaughterhouse-Five”. Page 38. In less than 24 hours, I’ve gotten further than I did in ten months with TCOMC.  I think I made the right choice.

Leave a Reply

