One Year, One Month and Yes, I’m Still Working On It.

Well, shoot. This is a little later than I like to update things, but I know that you don’t mind because you have been sitting on the edge of your seat knowing that I have been up to PURE AWESOMENESS in January and this month so far. You’d be partially correct. I kicked off the month of February with a trip to the Blissdom Conference in Nashville, Tennessee — an event that definitely qualifies for #26 (Yearly Girls’ Retreat). It was a lot of fun and while I was in Tennessee, I thought, “WHEW. FINALLY, I can get my Tennessee State Map Postcard.”

Wrong.

Hey Tennessee – why don’t you like state map cards?! I looked in several gift shops in both the hotel and the airport and was left empty handed. BOOOOO HISSSSS (Bonus, though was that I returned home to an Ohio card in my mail box, so THANK YOU very much – it kind of dulled the lack of TN postcard funk).

I read a ton of books in January – which is good because here we are nearly midway through February and I’m only halfway through my second book (it’s a really good one though – “The Glass Castle” by Jeanette Walls). I’ll have some catching up to do in March, for sure.

A trip to Chicago in January left me once again NOT accomplishing the trip to the 96th floor of the John Hancock Building – but the fog that day was crazy. My friend and I arrived at Sears Tower (uh, excuse me. WILLIS Tower) and were told, “Visibility Zero!” No way am I going all the way to the top of any of those buildings and not being able to see anything. It’s okay – more trips to Chicago on the agenda already – I will cross this off my list. I’m actually pretty stoked to think of what kind of photographs I’ll get from up there. Sigh. The view.

I’m in the midst of fundraising for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer for the second year in a row. I know – I only needed to walk a marathon once. Well, I’m doing it again. Gladly. Feel free to support the cause and my team, either by donating directly HERE or by purchasing a super cool shirt designed by GorillaSushi on the Zazzle Store. You can get that design on tees, mugs, and probably even beer steins if you were so inspired. {Yes, that has nothing to do with the month of January really – but I had to put that in there. It’s an amazing cause, y’all}
So many things left to do – I see a snowball fight in my very near future. Also, perhaps making a FABULOUS dessert? (Aren’t they all fabulous?) What should I make?

2 Comments »

  1. Malia said

    I didn’t realize that you don’t have a TN postcard yet. I’ll be on the lookout for one!

  2. Holley said

    I live in east TN, and I’m pretty sure I’ve seen them.
    I’ll keep an eye out for ya as well.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

